Overview
The Workspace Assignments feature in the Divi Builder Experience Helper plugin allows you to assign custom workspace settings configurations to specific user roles or users. This feature streamlines the experience by automatically applying personalized configurations and interface preferences based on the assigned users or roles. Whether you want to create a simple client interface, restrict access to advanced settings, or optimize the builder for different teams, this feature lets you define and control the Divi Builder environment for each user role or individual user.
How To Use
To assign a workspace to all users of a user role or selected individual users, go to the Pee-Aye Creative menu in your WordPress backend, then select Divi Builder Experience Helper. In the plugin settings interface, open the Workspace Assignments tab from the left sidebar and take notice of the “By Role” and “By User” subtabs.
Before you can assign workspaces to roles, you need to create or edit a workspace. To do this, navigate to the Workspaces tab from the left sidebar in the Divi Builder Experience Helper settings interface. Once you’ve set up your workspace, you’ll be ready to assign them to roles in the Workspace Assignments tab.
Assign A Workspace To A Role
In the Workspace Assignments > By Role subtab, you can assign existing workspaces to all roles or specific user roles. Each user role can only have one assigned workspace at a time. When users in that role log in and open the Divi Builder, the assigned settings automatically apply, customizing their interface and available features to match the workspace.
Click the pencil edit icon on each role. This opens up a screen where you can select the workspace to associate with that role.
- Edit a role in the list (e.g., All Roles, Administrator, Editor, Client, etc.)
- Select a workspace from the dropdown you want to assign to that role
- Save your changes so users with that role will see the customized builder next time they log in and get to work.
Only one workspace can be assigned to a user role at a time, and you can update it later as your needs evolve.
Need A Custom User Role?
To create a new user role in WordPress, we recommend using a dedicated user role management plugin such as User Role Editor. Once your new role is created, it will automatically appear in this list, allowing you to assign a workspace to it.
Assign A Workspace To A User
In the Workspace Assignments > By User subtab, you can assign an existing workspace setting to a specific user. This will override any other user role assigned to the workspace, taking priority so that you can customize the experience specifically for one or more users differently than the rest of the users in that role.
You can click the “Add User Workspace Assignment” button to add a workspace to a user, or click the pencil edit icon on a user to edit their existing assigned workspace. This opens up a screen where you can select the workspace to associate with that user.
- Add new/edit existing user in the list
- Select a workspace from the dropdown you want to assign to that user
- Save your changes so users with that user will see the customized builder next time they log in and get to work.
Only one workspace can be assigned to a user at a time, so any workspace you assign to a user will override any workspace assigned to that user’s role. You can update the assigned workspace later at any time.








